Commence Quilting!

May 23, 2007 at 6:10 pm | Posted in quilting, quilts | 5 Comments

I’ve never done this before … ever … but here goes …

I was at JoAnn’s today with 2 giftcards in hand and wondering what in the world I wanted to buy. More painting supplies? How about embroidery patterns and threads? I got Little Buttercup’s hopes up when I thought I would make her and Baby Buttercup matching PJs. But I changed my mind and went to the quilting supplies. I bought a rotary cutter, self-healing mat, acrylic ruler, needles, template plastic, a thimble (like I don’t already have one!) … I think that’s it.

Then I went on a quest for the right fabric. Since I had already been in the store for an hour I didn’t spend quite as much time looking through the fabrics as I would have liked, but I did find the 3 over to the left. I want my quilts (should I like the process and take it up as yet another hobby) to be artwork and to represent me. And I was feeling springy, so I chose those 3. I will be making a Single Irish Chain lap quilt for my first project. And I got the pattern and instruction from a book that I recently received – Your First Quilt Book (or it should be) by Carol Doak. It’s an excellent book IMHO :) … very practical and I like practical when I’m trying to figure out how to do something.

So now the fabrics are swirling and whirling in the Kenmore sea … I’m sure they’re done now and ready to be dried and ironed and cut to bits :)

Peace…
~Heather

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love your fabric choices! I’d love to see your project in progressive stages. Are you going to do any hand stitching??

  2. I love, love, love to quilt! Maybe we should start one for the family. I’ll do a square and send it to you, then you do a square and send it back…

    We could get the girls to each do squares also.

  3. Christy –

    Thank for the encouragement :) … Yes, I am going to post the prgoress/stages — I already di the first post today :)

    Angela –

    I didn’t know that you quilted! I’ve got to figure out this quilting thing a bit more before I commit to anything like that :)

    Peace…
    ~Heather

  4. I do! I have done a few small (kids’ size or lap) and lots of quilted pillows. I have LOTS of squares that Ihave sewn over the years, but with babies, babies and more babies I haven’t gotten finished. One day…

    Your fabric is precious :D

  5. […] Jun 7th, 2007 by Heather I just completed piecing my first quilt top ever … and I am so pleased!  We are still on vacation and I have been working on it during the baby’s naps.  She’s napping now and I was able to finish the top.  I’m so excited.  If I had my camera cord with me I would share a picture with you.  I promise as soon as I get a chance upon returning home to post the pic … it’s really lovely, if I do say so myself.  I really like the combination of the fabrics that I chose.  You can see them here. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

