Meatballs … Mmmmmmm …

May 30, 2007 at 2:07 pm | Posted in cooking | 4 Comments

MEATBALLS

I love to make meatballs. I’ve tried them a lot of different ways, but I think I have perfected the recipe now. Every time I make them I am reminded of the birth of my first daughter because a very dear friend brought over yummy meatballs and mashed potatoes and green beans. So guess what? Every time I make them I make them with mashed potatoes and green beans too! So here’s how I make them. I hope you enjoy them as much as my family and I!

  • 1 pound ground beef (I usually use ground chuck, and it’s ALWAYS natural beef with no added growth hormones or antibiotics – you can find Laura’s Lean Beef almost anywhere)
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup whole milk (again, always natural and organic here!)
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 TBSP Parsley (dried usually, you can use more if it’s fresh)
  • 1/2 TSP each: garlic powder, onion powder, salt, ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 400F degrees. Place a baking cooling rack onto a jellyroll pan or baking sheet that is larger than the cooling rack. Spray the cooling rack with Olive Oil (unless yours is non-stick). Set aside.

In a medium to large mixing bowl, soak the breadcrumbs in the milk until absorbed, usually about 5 minutes. Then add parsley, seasonings and egg. Mix. Next add ground beef and blend ingredients together with hands. One KEY: do the blending gently, never squeezing the meat – this helps it to remain tender. Once the meat is blended make into 1-inch meatballs and place on rack. Bake in 400F degree oven for approximately 15 minutes (don’t overcook or they’ll not be as tender and juicy). Baking the meatballs makes them a bit leaner than fried on the stovetop. I love to hear the sizzling juices while they are cooking! This makes about 24 meatballs.

Yum!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

DIPPING SAUCE

And I make a dipping sauce to go along with the meatballs. You can smother the meatballs if you’d like, but we prefer to dip here. Here’s the “recipe” if you’d like to try it out:

  • 1 Cup Ketchup
  • 1 TBSP hot pepper vinegar (we made ours by pouring boiling red wine vinegar over hot peppers and we store it in a jar in the pantry)
  • 1/2 TSP Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1/4 TSP Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/2 TSP Salt
  • 1/8 TSP each: Onion Powder and Garlic Powder

The reason that I put “recipe” in quotation marks is that I am trying to remember how I do it and estimate the amounts. I made this dipping sauce up on my own and it’s a bit spicy, so you might want to vary the amounts of the seasonings.

Mix all ingredients together and bring to a simmer. Pour into ramekins and serve … yum! This makes enough for my husband and me (the kiddos just like plain ketchup).

If I hadn’t just made these last night, I would make them tonight!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ok, I do love how easy it is to leave comments at your “new place.” :) ALright, I have written down your meatball and dipping sauce recipe. I even have all the ingredients…a few questions. I have been in SUCH a cooking slump, so this new recipe hopefully will spur me on a bit.

    1. If you use your homemade bread to make crumbs – do you just crumble them up and go ahead with the recipe? Or do you bake them first to dry them out?

    2. I am on the search for the kind of pan you said to use…I don’t have a cooling rack, but might borrow one from mom to try out these meatballs. I’m guessing this is so all the juices, etc, can flow out without making the meatballs soggy??

    Thanks for sharing…and I’d love to see more of your recipes!

  2. I like the ease of thingsl ike cmments too.

    I don’t use crumbs made from my homemade bread. I’ve just never tried it because I use bread crumbs so much that it seems such a daunting task. I buy my bread crumbs from Whole Foods.

    Yes, it’s so the juices drip from the meatballs. They would be soggy if you baked them without the cooling rack. Mmmmmm … just talking about these makes me want to make some now, but we’re on vacation right now, so they’ll have to wait :)

  3. Heather, just thought I’d let you know we had your meatballs last night and they are GOOD!! I didn’t get around to making the dipping sauce as I had a fussy, fussy boy in the afternoon…but the meatballs tasted great on their own. Thanks for a new recipe! :)

  4. Candace –

    I’m so glad that you liked them! They are so tender and juicy … I hope your family liked them too :)

    ~Heather


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

