The top is finished!

June 7, 2007 at 6:57 pm | Posted in quilting, quilts | Leave a comment

I just completed piecing my first quilt top ever … and I am so pleased! We are still on vacation and I have been working on it during the baby’s naps. She’s napping now and I was able to finish the top. I’m so excited. If I had my camera cord with me I would share a picture with you. I promise as soon as I get a chance upon returning home to post the pic … it’s really lovely, if I do say so myself. I really like the combination of the fabrics that I chose. You can see them here.

So, I pulled out Your First Quilt Book (or it should be) by Carol Doak. This book is what I have been using to learn from and I have to tell you again that it is very well written and easy to understand. But the hand quilting process seems a little daunting. I’m sure I can figure it out, but if you’re as unsure of the process as I am, then you may enjoy the tutorials that I have found online.

The first one is at a blog I read called I Have to Say. She writes candidly about quilting and has some pictures. I like her quilts too :)

The second one is at Heirloom Quilts. It’s a quick tutorial with some hand-drawn pictures.

The third one is from Hand Quilting 101, at handquilter.com. It contains some good advice, but no pictures.

Once I get home I’ll need to go and purchase the backing, the batting and a quilt hoop. Then I will get started :) and like I said, I promise to post a pic as soon as I can …

~Heather

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

