My First Quilt Top

June 10, 2007 at 10:19 pm | Posted in quilting, quilts | 7 Comments

It’s rather wrinkled from the trip, but here it is:

And another angle (I like this picture especially):

The dark green has dragonflies and the pink and light green have flowers. I was feeling springy when I selected the fabrics and I am pleased with how it turned out. I really like bright colors like this.

What do you think???

I’m so excited to finish it! I have to say that I have, so far, loved the entire process and can’t wait to begin another one …we’ll have to see what pattern I want to do next!

And some fabric shops I have been browsing through online …

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It looks great! I love the pattern and the bright colors!

  2. Thank you Shauna! I am so pleased by the results and can’t wait to finish it off.

    ~Heather

  3. Hi Heather! I am Lew A.’s (from The Pursuit) wife, Kati. I decided to spend my summer break finally learning how to quilt and Lew pointed me toward your blog. Your first top looks great, I hope my first attempt will turn out that well! Your blog is great…I love the tips and links.

  4. Hey Kati! It’s nice to “meet” you :) How do you put up with Lew? ;) Just kidding! I *highly* recommend the book Your First Quilt Book (or it should be) by Carol Doak. I have read countless how to quilt books over the years and have come away confused. But her writing is easy to follow and she has instructions for hand and machine. I followed her instructions and look what I did! It was so simple that the entire time I was sewing it (by hand) I kept thinking that it was going to be all screwed up, that there was no way I was doing it right. But I did do it right and I am so pleased. I am going to the store tomorrow to buy the final things that I need to finish it and to buy a book to teach me how to design my own :)

    Have fun!

  5. […] and my oldest is at day camp this week, so I’m off to begin the actually quilting process for my first quilt ever … wish me […]

  6. Love your quilt top! You did a beautiful job! I’m finishing up one now and hope to post a pictures sometime soon as well. Thanks for sharing.

    Blessings,
    Leslie

  7. nice job on your first quilt top! it’s lovely.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

