Homemade Pasta

June 13, 2007 at 10:02 pm | Posted in cooking | 4 Comments

I tried my hand at homemade pasta tonight and it was ………………. really good!!! The process was long (I should have started at, oh, I dunnoNOON!) but worth in in the end. YUM! The pasta I made was capellini pomodoro and tasted like something in a really nice restaurant. I love when that happens! I’ll have to post the recipe tomorrow …

But if you have access to a pasta maker (I happen to have an attachment for my KitchenAid) try it! It’s worth it!

~Heather

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d like to see your recipe. I bought a manual pasta press (didn’t want to spend the extra for the Kitchen Aid attachment). I’ve done it once with the basic pasta recipe. It was decent, but not amazing. I used the wide cutter and was surprised how long it took to cook. The manual said it should cook in 1-2 minutes but it took more like 10-15, about the same as store-bought dried pasta. I’ll be making some more this weekend (Father’s Day lunch) and may try the thin cutter and see how that works.

  2. Hey! I made the pasta with the recipe that came with the attachment — 3 eggs (+ water to = 3/4 cup) and 2 3/4 cups flour. I had to add a bit more water while kneading. It only took 1 – 2 minutes to cook.

    Here are some recipes – http://forum.kitchenaid.com/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7102 – mine is similar to the first one listed. Have fun making it this weekend!

    Blessings~
    ~Heather

  3. That’s pretty much the recipe I have. I did use the small cutter (I forget the name, but similar to spaghetti). It cooked faster, but still longer than 2 minutes. How many times did your attachment tell you to run the pasta through the press before cutting? Mine says 10 times, folding it each time. That seems excessive to me, but what do I know ;)

  4. Well, I use my Kitchen Aid to make it, so I just makes very crumbly pasta dough, then put walnut-sized pieces into the maker and it makes the thin spaghetti-sized pasta for me … there is no cutting on my part, just separating so that it doesn’t stick. I found the key to that is making VERY DRY dough.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

