WFMW: Laundry on Vacation???

June 13, 2007 at 6:44 am | Posted in blogging, laundry | 4 Comments

wfmwheader.jpgYes, I do all my laundry while on vacation.  We just returned home this past weekend and, again, I was reminded how nice it is to return home with no big piles of laundry to wash and dry and fold and put away.  Here’s what I do …

I pile up my laundry while on vacation (laundry baskets are nice for this).  Then on the next-to-the-last night of vacation I wash and dry and fold it all.  Then at some point on the last day while packing to return home I simply pack it all up like I did when packing for the trip.  When I return home all I have to do is unpack and put all the laundry away.

There are 2 things I hate to come home to: a messy house (I also make sure my house is clean before I leave) and a pile of laundry.

After years and years of the dreaded laundry-pile-upon-returning-home I decided to try this and found it to be much better than waiting until I got home.  So now part of my packing is filling up a snack-sized plastic bag with quarters (ya never know how much machines will cost!) for the laundry.

Have a :) day!

~Heather

Check out others’ ideas at Rocks in My Dryer

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We did this on our trip to England last year – when you just plan for it, you get to pack lighter, and we met the most fascinating people in the laundromat in a London suburb! Great tip!

  2. Great idea! Bringing the quarters is smart!

  3. I like this idea! I HATE coming home to a day’s worth of laundry! But I thought I should pipe in with one small tidbit: If you are flying anywhere on vacation, a baggie or roll of quarters in your luggage with get your bag flagged in a heartbeat. (I guess maybe it’s perceived as a weapon? Not sure really.) My sister packed a roll in her luggage for Disney World and they were held up because of it. She ended up just taking it out and trading it for a $10 bill in the airport. But if you’re driving on vacation, this is an AWESOME idea!

  4. Redneck Diva –
    Good point … thanks for the reminder about traveling by air :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

