Sewing Sewing Sewing

June 21, 2007 at 10:38 am | Posted in quilting, quilts, sewing | 7 Comments

Here’s the picture of my first ever quilt that I promised:

1stquilt.jpg

The binding is SO bad on it … I just didn’t understand exactly how to do it until now.  I guess that’s what happens when you are teaching yourself!  My next quilt will definitely be better :). Speaking of that …

Here are the blocks and the finished top:

pgblocks2.jpg

pgquilttop.jpg

I call it “Pink Geometry” and it will be for my 18-month-old, perfect size for her.  I designed it with my new Quilt Design Wizard (did I mention that I love this program?  So does my daughter).

Oh, one more thing … my oldest has been begging me to learn to use the sewing machine and I think she’s ready, so we started yesterday.  I have My First Sewing Machine Book and kit and we’re using that.

lsew.jpg

She’s enjoying using the machine with no thread and seeing how well she can sew on the lines.  As a matter of fact she’s doing that right now and trying all the different stitches on the machine.  I think she might need one of her own.  I’ve heard the Janome Hello KItty machine is pretty good for a kid.

My husband said he would rather pay $60 for that for her than about anything else, so maybe we’ll get one for her soon …

Well, gotta run – some friends are coming over today … later ;)

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely fresh colours!

    I still don’t understand binding :)

  2. Heather,
    great job!!! we ALL have things about our first quilt–just don’t look at it as a mistake but about the things you learned.
    Way to go on the 2nd one–you’re fast!
    christi

  3. It looks wonderful. It doesn’t sound like Little Buttercup minded the “mistakes” a bit. It will be a mark of where you started and will be your favorite quilt : )

    Can’t wait to see the finished Pink Geometry quilt..

  4. Well done! The colors really “pop”. They’re adorable.

    Bev

  5. Thanks all for the compliments. I am loving quilting :)

  6. That’s a lovely quilt. You’ll be hooked on quilting and patchwork now I can tell!
    I like Guterman thread.

  7. Janet Clare –

    Thanks … and I am hooked now, no doubt about it :) And thanks for the recommendation about the thread!

    ~Heather


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

