Always Buying Too Much Fabric

June 28, 2007 at 3:46 pm | Posted in books, fabric, sewing | 8 Comments

I always buy “too much” fabric (is there really such a thing?!) because when I like something, well, I like it.  I bought way too much pink geometry fabric because I really liked the prints.  And I’m glad I did.  I wanted to try a few of the patterns from my latest find, Simple Sewing (which I love by the way!).  I made these towels for my kitchen out of some cute fat quarters that I found the other day:

towels.jpg

And I was really wanting to make a new tote/purse.  I made this one using the tote pattern in the book and scaled it down:

tote1.jpg

I also added 2 inside pockets for my cell phone and Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmers (I can’t be without them!):

tote2.jpg

It was a productive morning.  I’m pleased with my tote/purse and can’t wait to begin my next project from the book: The All-Day Tote, which I plan on using as a diaper bag.  I bought the following canvas fabrics this week – they were on clearance so, again, I couldn’t resist buying 2 yards of each.  I can’t decide which to use for the All-Day Tote/diaper bag – I’m leaning toward the black and pink, but what do you think?

canvas-fabric.jpg

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So cute! I’d go with black and pink also…
    Are you taking orders? :)

  2. Louise –
    Unfortunately, at this point since I am still not quite the efficient seamstress, I’m afraid that the amount I would charge for labor would exceed what you would want to pay LOL …. ;)
    ~Heather

  3. I’ve never seen or heard of such a thing as having “too much fabric”.
    I am jealous of how busy your sewing table has been!:)

  4. I am jealous of the TIME you have to do these great projects!!! They look great!! Some day my sewing machine will whirl again. For now (and the next few years, I imagine) it will sit in the closet and wait :) I guess that I will just have to look forward to YOUR completed projects to fill that void :)

    Seriously though, everything looks great. Good job!

  5. BTW- With my birthday quickly approaching, I thought you might like to know that my kitchen color is tulip stem green with farmhouse red and pale gold accents :)

    LOL!!!!

  6. Very darling fabric — love the aqua with the big flowers!

  7. Christi and Angela –

    It’s summertime and I am just as enthused about the break from homeschooling as my daughter ;) … and I take the opportunity to work on some things like this :)

    Stephanie –

    I know, I love the aqua with big flowers too … still can’t decide … welcome to my blog :)

    ~Heather

  8. My favorite online fabric store is http://www.iluvfabrix.com . This company sells everything at below designer wholesale prices and they have an in house designer that will assist you for free in picking your fabrics and designing your room. They sell Scalamandre, Colefax & Fowler, Cowtan & Tout, Brunschwig & Fils and many, many other high end brands. You can visit them at http://www.iluvfabrix.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

