Sewing Machines, Repairs and a ~FIND~ (Quilt Shop)

July 7, 2007 at 9:33 pm | Posted in fabric, finds, sewing | Leave a comment

Yes, we had to take my machine to the shop today.  Last night as I was finishing up my new diaper bag (which is AWESOME by the way!) it was giving me fits and I was just praying it would let me finish the stitching with no problems.

Okay, Okay, so I didn’t get it serviced last year.  But to be honest I had a new baby and just wasn’t thinking about sewing much.  But now that I’ve been sewing a lot it’s not so happy.  I tried doing the little things that I could here yesterday (cleaning out the lint, oiling, etc.) but no luck.

So we ventured to the A-1 Sewing Machine Shop today.  That’s where my dear husband bought my machine for me … all by himself!  Have I mentioned that I have the best husband yet?  Let me tell you what he did today … First, he held the baby while I looked around at new sewing machines and checked them out.  I *might* trade up for a new one … my birthday is coming up :).  And he was encouraging me to look!  The funny thing was how these sweet little old ladies were really hard-nosed saleswomen!  They immediately took me to the Janome Memory Craft 9500 … which was $2899!  They kept asking me “Don’t you want to take one home today?”  Of course I want to, but that’s not really the question, now is it?

So I have narrowed it down to 2 machines that I think I would like to trade up on: the Janome 6260 QC or the Janome DC2007 Limited Edition.  The latter is less expensive.  I want 3 things in particular … needle up/down, drop-in bobbin and speed control.

Then we had lunch at one of our favorite places – Everybody’s Pizza.  If you live in Atlanta and haven’t been there you are missing out.  And if you come to Atlanta for a visit you won’t be disappointed in their food — it’s the best!  So anyway, after that the second thing that my dear husband did today was this:

~FIND~ I wanted to see if I could find a quilt shop – Intown Quilters – that I had heard about but had not been to.  I saw that they were featured in BH&G’s Quilt Sampler magazine as one of 10 featured shops in the country.  If you pick up a copy and look for the section on Intown Quilters you’ll see what a fun and funky and fabulous shop it is!  I just wanted to find it so I could go back on a later date, but he told me to go in and he would stay in the car with the baby.  So I did and the place was amazing!  Definitely my kind of place with bright and bold fabrics, and lots of Free Spirit designs, among many, many others, and a good clearance section too!  I bought some PRISM fat quarters for $1 each!

We came home and napped … a good day all in all :)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

