Sewing Fiend

July 12, 2007 at 9:52 am | Posted in sewing, tutorials | 5 Comments

According to dictionary.com, a fiend, among other things, is some one who is addicted to something or who is completely absorbed in or obsessed with a given job or pastime. That would be me right now. I am taking a day off from sewing today to visit with friends, but I wanted to share what I did yesterday with you …

First, I made a tote purse to match my new diaper bag (did I mention yet that I love it?!) and a changing pad for the baby. You can see the diaper bag and the fabric here. Then I spent the rest of the afternoon making …

dsc03074.jpg

twirly skirts for my girls yesterday and they turned out great. They are a bit more bulky than they should be because I used a denim fabric that my oldest daughter loves, but they are still so cute! I used an adorable fabric that I picked up a few weeks ago at a flea market for the hem, waistband and tie. I also made my oldest a headband a la Heather Bailey that you can see hanging on the hanger with her skirt. I decided not to even try to make one for the baby as it would be off in 2 seconds.

Both of those tutorials above (twirly skirts and headbands) are SUPER-EASY and cute! Try them … you’ll like them!

And I had to throw in a picture of the cutie-pie in front of the skirts …

dsc03076.jpg

~Heather

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The twirly skirts are too cute…I have been eyeing them but just haven’t taken the plunge. I see you and your new baby have been bonding quite nicely. :-)

  2. Love them! They turned out soo cute!!! Great job.
    !

  3. Thanks, guys, for the compliments. I’m telling you, the twirly skirts are super-easy and look great :)

    Yes, the baby and I have bonded strongly … she’s my baby buttercup!

    ~Heather

  4. Have a question for ya on the twirly skirts. I tried to make one and it turned out really scrunchy at the waistline. Is that normal? Yours don’t look like mine??? I also tried the headband and it was soooo cute! (I think this is a project for dd to start with!) But, I am disappointed in my twirly skirt. Would you be willing to peek at my blog and see what you think???
    Thanks,
    Christi

  5. http://luv2praisehim.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

