Help! I am so confused about these quilt instructions …

July 26, 2007 at 5:54 pm | Posted in questions, quilting, quilts | 4 Comments

I purchased the Charm School Lesson 6 pattern from Quilted Quickes (actually got it from Fat Quarter Shop – it looked easy enough!). I have been reading and reading the instructions and I am SO confused! If you can help me or have any ideas, please let me know!

First, I am to cut 8 of the 5″ squares in half to give me 16 2 1/2″x5″ pieces. That I can handle ;) … but the next instructions are throwing me for a loop. They say:

Cut 2 2 1/2″ strips from the fabric designated for the checker squares.

Now, all I know is that I am to have 1 1/8 yard of fabric for the checker squares, outer border and game bags. so I’m wondering… 2 1/2″x what??? Then it says:

Place checker square fabric strip (again, I am unsure of the dimensions of said fabric strip) facing up and place a 2 1/2″x5″ strip (cut from the charms in step above) right side down on top of the checker square strip. Take a 1/4″ seam (does that mean “sew” a 1/4 inch seam?), then place another 2 1/2″x5″ strip about 1/8″ down from the first 2 1/2″x5″ strip and take another 1/4″ seam (again, does “take” mean sew?). Continue this chain piecing technique until you are our of 2 1/2″x5″ pieces (see illustration 1) — which BTW makes NO sense to me, but the illustration looks like this:

quilt2.gif

Then cut apart sewn units into 2 1/2″ strips (see illustration 2 — which is below). This yields 32 units after cutting occurs. The dotted lines below are cutting lines, not seam lines (according to the instructions) …

quilt3.gif

This may not be my last question about this as the instructions seem somewhat ambiguous … can you help me???!!!

This is the 2nd time I have picked up these instructions to try and figure them out … what am I doing/seeing/reading wrong?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. OK, I have never seen the charm packs…but, I think that you must have received 5″ squares? If so, I think that you are cutting them down to “create” the checker blocks and sort of “strip piecing” to create your outer border. I think that pattern and kit looks so cute! My mom and I will sit and figure on it a bit later. It’s one of the things we love to do together (Yes, that means I’m in GA right now). I hope we will get to do a quilt together these next couple weeks. If we come up with any thoughts on these directions, I will email you again. …
    Christi

  2. I hope I can help, you purchased yardage of the checkered fabric correct????? You will cut the strips 2 1/2″ wide by the WOF (width of fabric) which is generally 44 to 45″ wide. Make sense?????
    You will then lay the previously cut pieces on top of the right side of the strips cut and sew them, press them, then cut as instructions indicate. They should have indicated WOF (width of fabric on their instructions) but they assumed that it would be understood. Hope this helps you…… Please share pictures when you are done. Have fun…..

  3. This isn’t a solution to your question, but A friend of mine just recv’d a beautiful quilt from her Mama. It is great inspiration. I thought you might enjoy taking a look at it.

    http://www.nclighthousekeeper.blogspot.com/

  4. Heather, I’ve missed your blogging! But your past entries are awesome, so I’ve given you a “You Make Me Smile” award! :) Head on over to my blog to collect! :)

    Amanda


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

