Completed! Button Shirt Recon …

July 25, 2007 at 9:49 am | Posted in sewing, tutorials | 8 Comments

Here is the front:

dsc03121.jpg

And the back:

dsc03123.jpg

And my little one modeling it for me:

dsc03117.jpg

dsc03118.jpg

Please forget you saw the messy room ;-)

I added jumbo rick-rack to the top front and the hem and I had to curve the armholes, but they’re still snug. Also the straps are just perfect, which means that soon they will need to be let out, so I kept all the scraps from the shirt to make any changes as she grows.

What do you think? I love it …. thanks Dad for the old shirt – it worked perfectly. Now I’m off to make one for the big girl :-)

Oh, and just in case you want/need it again, here is the link to the Button Shirt to Toddler Dress Recon tutorial that I used to make this cute dress. And again, it’s super easy!

~Heather

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Heather, What do I say? Everyday you come up with a new find :-)The shirt/dress is so cute and looks so cute and good on your model and am looking forward to seeing your other model with hers on:-) I am going to take a look at your Dad’s shirts and see what other shirts he has to give to you.You make us so proud and you are so loved. Mom

  2. The model and the dress are adorable!!!! Also, what sweet and loving comments from your mom. Have you thought about doing the July Group Writing Project at MamaBlogga.

  3. What a cute dress and cute girlie! Reminds me of my girls!

  4. That is so cool. I love transforming clothes. I’ll definitely have to keep this in mind. Recently, I made leggings for my little girl out of a long sleeve T-shirt I got at the local craft store for $1.99. I also made a dress with the rest of the fabric. I needed navy blue leggings for her and couldn’t find them anywhere. As she grows, the dress and leggings set can become a shirt and cropped legging set (although I might have to adjust the inseam).

  5. Awesome! I have been eyeing that tutorial on craftster for a long time. I just have to find the right shirt and get to it! Great job!

  6. Thanks, everyone, for the compliments. I really liked doing this – it was my first reconstruction and it was so easy. I’m about to make one (probably will be a long shirt) for my oldest daughter :)

    ~Heather

  7. Adorable dress! And a cute model :)

  8. Love it!! I have a little boy or else I would totally raid hubby’s closet and start making these!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.